feeling like a marathoner

saturday

5 weeks til Boston

14 miles in the park on a sweetly warm overcast day, an easy pace with no additives.  We went out last night after the tough 16 miler, had some Pho, a Vietnamese stew with veggies and lean beef, just what I needed, with a couple glasses of red wine, and that was all she wrote for me, slept through the night and then some.  Felt better but the residue of marathon training remained during today’s recovery run.

After running and a shower, sat down on the couch for a moment and realized I’m starting to feel like a marathoner, all the sweat along with any excess matter washed and trained away, and what remains are just the solids, the bones and muscles…bare like a marathoner.

One thought on “feeling like a marathoner

  1. Pippa @ Pip in Motion

    Yes! I know what you mean. I felt like that after my first 20 miler…I felt like death and was slobbing around on my sofa, but honestly I’d just accomplished this huge thing that I’d never thought possible previously!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

