as hoped, maybe even better

lockport y10 2016

goal race: Buffalo Marathon 5/29

saturday

1 mile warm up, 4 mile cool down, 15 miles for day.

This morning’s Lockport Y-10 Miler race/tempo run/workout or whatever you want to call it went as hoped, maybe even better.  First the stats: 1:00:34, 3rd overall (the winner in 58:55, 2nd place in 59:40), 1st master.  My run pace was 6:03/mile, close to the 6:00/mile goal.  1 mile warm up, 4 mile cool down, 15 miles for day.

But the run was actually better than that.  Hit 5 miles at 28:30, well under 6 minute pace, and was leading the race at this point, feeling great.   But then got slaughtered by the 30+ mph wind gusts in our face most of the way in the 2nd half.  I was ‘crawling’ during mile 6, at which point I was passed by the eventual winner as if I was standing.  Miles 6 and 7 were brutal, got my 2nd wind back at mile 8 and got some rhythm, but yesterday’s 20 miles came back to collect in the form of leg fatigue and pain.  The 2nd guy passed by at mile 8, I hung with him for a while, but dropped off at mile 9.  But hung on to keep both guys in sight.

Overall a very encouraging day.  I wasn’t being tactical at all today.  As the first race/workout of the season, it was really a day to just let it rip and see where it took me.  Found that I had a lot in the tank even during high mileage.  Again, very encouraging.    

As bonus, picked up some masters award hardware: a nice cast iron trophy, a beer glass, and something I’ve been meaning to buy, a foam roller.  I just have to learn how to use it.

Now very tired, must get some sleep…

6 thoughts on “as hoped, maybe even better

Leave a Reply

