the blogger recognition award

I recently had the honor of receiving the Blogger Recognition Award from Joan at Marlton Trainer.  Though nominated for other blog awards in the past – thanks and apologies to Deutscherwanderwolf! – this is the first one whose requirements were easy enough for my pea sized intellect to handle.

HOW MY BLOG GOT STARTED

I started blogging in 2012 (on another site) to record my experience of training for the Twin Cities Marathon.  I felt like it was worth recording to look back on sometime in the future.  I continued on writing after that race and thought that some people might find the blog interesting and perhaps even motivational to do those things they loved but thought they had left behind.  At the very least, I felt like I just needed to write about it – something my high school track coach and English teacher always encouraged.  I expanded to Worpress later as the platform seemed appropriate for a heavily text based blog like mine.

TIPS FOR NEW BLOGGERS

My advice to new bloggers would be to ‘just write.’ Just write. Don’t worry about who’ll read it, how many followers you might gather, or how many likes you’ll get. Just write. Write to someone specific, whether to yourself or someone you know.  Try to write consistently, every day if possible, even if it’s only a couple of sentences, at least every week. Readers seem to like consistency.  And don’t worry too much about whether it’s any good – readers here and in other sites, on the whole, are very receptive.  So sit, type away, and let us know something about you.

BLOGGERS ONTO WHOM I’M PASSING THE AWARD

Deutscherwanderwolf

Travel, Running and a Little Bit of Style

Maxedoutmuscles

Skinny running

TheDudeRunRun

beautybeyondbones

The Tipsy Runner

Walk to Rio 2016

Fitness On Toast

Andrealinares

Oncebyalys

Strong girl beginning

Scarletpen28

Breybrey44

Jon928

Mind Body Work Travel

The 5k Runner

BlissfulBritt

12 thoughts on “the blogger recognition award

  1. Brittany

    How fun! I started my blog back in 2011 after reading other blogs with similar “healthy living” interests like eating green foods and running. Now my one piece of advice is for bloggers to speak from their OWN voice, and not try to fit a mold!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Blogger Recognition Award | deutscherwanderwolf

Leave a Reply

