yesterday and the week that was

monday

5 gentle recovery miles on grassy median on the parkway and through the neighborhood.  Tired and sore, hopefully the easy run will loosen up the legs and revitalize.

A club track workout tomorrow, but will play it by ear, will see how I feel tomorrow.

A 5k scheduled for Sunday.  It’s a big local race, and I should be ready by then to go back down to a 5k.

random thoughts on yesterday and the week that was:

The results of yesterday’s Half is in yesterday’s post.  Some more pieces from the day and the week…

Just wasn’t feeling great during the week leading up to the race.  Might have been fighting off a cold or something; often you know when something ‘feels off.’  Did not do a good job resting in the first part of the week, got some rest at the end of the week and might have helped fight off whatever I might have had.

A factor during the race: a side stitch, something I haven’t had in a race in a long time, bothered me between miles 5 and 8, had me hunched over a bit, couldn’t get rid off, it seemed, for eternity.  Felt so good to be free of it for the last 3 miles.

Warm and humid at race time, already knew not to focus on a PR and rather to just race.  Started off conservatively, respecting the humidity, which affects me more than it used to when I had a 20 year old body.

Sometimes the small things seem to be a harbinger or a tone setter for the race.  My hotel’s parking garage had the weirdest system in the history of parking garages.  The color codes for levels and sections were impossible to figure out so that every time I had to find my car, it was a scene out of Seinfeld’s parking garage episode.  These parking ‘adventures’ pissed me off more than they should have, but it was annoying nevertheless.

Forgot how taxing a race of 13.1 miles and above is, both during the race and recovery-wise.  Really tired and sore today.

2 thoughts on “yesterday and the week that was

  1. WalkToRio

    I haven’t had a stitch in ages, last time I had one was horrible. Was an indoor race at the Armory in NYC, a mile, felt like 20km.
    Glad the cold didn’t develop.
    As for the parking, the only thing I can say is that I’m glad I don’t drive, I see people parking in here and I’m sure I’d go mad.
    Have a nice day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

