you can’t predict these things

friday

So a quick update on Thursday’s 5k race that I nonchalantly jumped in. The more I run and race, the more I find that I can only prepare for a race and not predict it. I’ve gone into races relaxed and have run terribly, or tense and have run well. Last night, after 24 hours of a stomach ailment, felt strangely relaxed. I wasn’t going to be fooled, though, and braced for a tough race.

The result: felt easy for most of the 5k, came in a surprising 3rd in a deep local field, in 16:35, missing my masters 5k PR by just 5 seconds, and won some prize money. A better run than last Friday’s Subaru. Are you kidding me? You just never know, I guess.

2 thoughts on “you can’t predict these things

Leave a Reply

