lost track of my track workout

monday

Had some time this morning to get in a workout at the local Buffalo State College track, the last one before this Friday’s 4 mile race. The weather less warm but still humid, the bright red track surface seemed to reflect the sunlight directly back so that it felt about 20 degrees hotter during the workout. Still, it was cooler than yesterday with a slight breeze, and that helped. Along with a 2 mile warm up, 3 mile cool down, and the workout, total mileage was 9 miles.

The workout: 8 x 600 meters (1 ½ laps) with a 200 meter jog rest. The splits in were: 1:57, 1:58, 1:55, 1:54, 1:55, 1:56, 1:57, 1:57.

Felt pretty good. The bookend splits of 1:57’s were good for different reasons. The first one was good for a first rep in a workout, as it usually takes me longer to get in gear. The last one was a good time for the way I was feeling. As my form was deteriorating, I didn’t think I was going to break 2:00. It’s a good sign for your fitness when you feel like you’re crawling and still run a decent split.

Being a creature of habit, ended up doing 8 reps of 600 meters – 2 more than I had initially planned to do. As I finished the 6th one, I forgot my plans and kept on going for 2 more. Didn’t realize what I had done until I was reviewing the splits during cool down. No wonder the last 2 felt so tough.

Leave a Reply

